

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation **South Carolina Real Estate Commission** 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847 Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427 llr.sc.gov/re

Salesperson License Requirements and Application Process Overview

Before calling in to the Commission Office – You may check your application status online at: <u>https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage</u>.

Licensure Requirements:

A person is qualified to receive a salesperson license when the following requirements are met:

- **1.** Be at least 18 years of age or older.
- **2.** Have graduated high school or hold certificate of equivalency recognized by the United States Department of Education.
- 3. Unless an exemption applies, all applicants must complete 60 hours of classroom education, <u>Unit</u> <u>I</u> Fundamentals of Real Estate, and an additional 30 hours of classroom education, <u>Unit II</u> Advanced Real Estate Principle Course.

• <u>Pre-Licensing Education Exemptions</u>:

- i. Applicant with a law degree.
- ii. Applicant with a bachelor or higher degree with a major in real estate.
- iii. <u>Georgia reciprocity</u> applicant that has been licensed by a written exam <u>and</u> is a current GA resident.
- iv. North Carolina reciprocity applicant:
 - a. A NC Provisional Broker may apply for a SC salesperson license with proof of completing 90 hours of NC post-licensing education or 90 hours or SC pre-licensing education; <u>or</u>
 - b. A NC Broker may apply for a SC salesperson license.
- 4. Complete the Commission-approved fingerprint and social security number background checks.
- 5. Successfully pass the national and state examinations.
 - Exemptions:
 - i. A non-resident <u>with</u> an active license in another jurisdiction or whose license in another jurisdiction has not been expired for more than six months will only be required to take the State exam, <u>OR</u>
 - ii. A <u>Georgia reciprocity</u> applicant is not required to take any examinations.
 - iii. A North Carolina reciprocity applicant is required to take the SC state exam.

Application Process:

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all the required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- 1. Application In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
 - <u>Application Fee</u>: \$25 application fee made out to SC Real Estate Commission. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) *A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may be assessed on all returned funds.</u>*
 - Identification:
 - Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport, or Military ID.
 - Copy of signed Social Security Card.
 - **<u>Proof of Residency:</u>** Copy of your valid Driver's License showing home address.
 - <u>Education</u>: High school diploma, GED Certification, college diploma or transcript. Only the highest level of completed education needs to be submitted.
 - Official college transcripts must be sent directly to the Commission office from the school. If the school is no longer in existence, contact the State Education Department for records.
 - Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence
 - <u>Consent to Jurisdiction and Service of Process (*if applicable*):</u> applicable to non-resident applicants only.
 - Legal documentation of name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
 - <u>Personal History Questions</u>: For any "Yes" answers in the Personal History Information, a written explanation must be provided. For explanation of criminal history, completion and submission of the Explanation Form is required. Additional information may be requested by the Commission Office or an appearance before the Commission may be necessary.
 - <u>Real Estate Education (*if applicable*):</u> Copy of the certificate of completion of Unit I Fundamentals of Real Estate and Unit II Advanced Real Estate Principle Course. Unit II may be submitted after examination.

2. Documents should be sent directly to the Board from the issuing agency/institution.

<u>Education Verification</u>: Contact your college/university to request an official copy of your transcript be sent directly to the Commission office. Transcripts may be emailed to <u>contact.REC@llr.sc.gov</u> or mailed to the Commission office. Only the highest level of completed education needs to be submitted. If the school is no longer in existence, contact the State Education Department for records.

- <u>Certification of Licensure</u>: Contact each state jurisdiction you are currently or have previously been licensed with and have the certificate of licensure sent directly to the Commission office via email at <u>contact.REC@llr.sc.gov</u> or mail.
- **3. Background Check**: Once the Commission is in receipt of your application, information on attaining the required background checks will be emailed. The Commission requires completion of <u>two</u> background checks:
 - Fingerprint based check.
 - Social security number check.

Do not complete the background check process until you receive instructions from the Commission. Applications cannot be approved until both background reports have been received and reviewed by the Commission office.

4. Examination: Once a completed application has been received and approved, applicants will be authorized to take the examination. The examination is administered by PSI Testing Service. Applicants will not be authorized to take the exam until a complete application is on file.

Applicants will receive notification from PSI when they are authorized to register for the examination. Applicants are responsible for registering and scheduling with PSI. The examination registration fee is to be paid directly to PSI upon registration (\$63 for National and State exam and \$55 for State exam only).

Exam eligible applicants are encouraged to review the <u>PSI Real Estate Candidate Information</u> <u>Bulletin</u>.

PSI will send examination score reports directly to the Commission office. Please do not send your score report to the Commission office.

- 5. Licensure: Upon receipt of passed examination, the Commission office will send notice that the following is required prior to licensure issuance:
 - \$50 Initial Licensure fee
 - GA and NC Reciprocity: \$25 Initial Licensure Fee.
 - Supervision Attestation Form
 - Certificate of completion of Unit II Advanced Real Estate Principle Course, if applicable and not already submitted to the Commission office.



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation **South Carolina Real Estate Commission** 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847 Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427 llr.sc.gov/re

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO PRACTICE AS A SC REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period, you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

Submit the following with your application to the above address:

- Check or money order only, in the amount of \$25 made payable to SC Real Estate Commission (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable). A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. NO CASH IS ACCEPTED.
- Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport, or Military ID
- Copy of Social Security Card
- Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence
- Consent to Jurisdiction and Service of Process, *if applicable*
- Copy of high school diploma or GED certification, if applicable
- Legal documentation of name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.), *if applicable*
- Certification of Completion for Unit I & Unit II, *if applicable*

Have sent directly to the Commission by the issuing agency:

Documentation may be mailed from the issuing agency to the address above or emailed to Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov.

- College Transcripts, *if applicable*
- Certification of Licensure, *if applicable*

RECIPROCITY

South Carolina only has reciprocity with the states of <u>Georgia</u> and <u>North Carolina</u>. Before answering the below questions, please review the reciprocity agreement links above to see if you qualify.

1.	Are you applying by Georgia Reciprocity?	YES	NO
2.	Are you applying by North Carolina Reciprocity?	YES	NO

APPLICANT INFORMATION

) City	State	Zij	р
Street/PO Box	City	State	Zip
(W)		(C)	
	Social Security N	lumber:	
	Street/PO Box	Street/PO Box City (W) Social Security N Gender: Fema	Street/PO Box City State (W) (C) Social Security Number:

REC Salesperson Exam/Reciprocity App (Rev. 04/19/2024 V.1.3)

EDUCATION INFORMATION

List all completed education.

Name of School	LOCATION (City and State or Country)	GRADUATION DATE	DEGREE & MAJOR

REAL ESTATE EDUCATION

Reciprocity applicants or applicants holding a law or real estate degree, please enter N/A.

Unit I Course

Name of School:_____

Date of Completion:

Date of Completion: ____

Unit II Course

Write N/A if not yet completed.

Name of School:

RECORD OF LICENSURE

List all states in which you have been licensed in; regardless of status: Active, Inactive, Expired, etc. You will need to contact each licensing agency and request a Certification of Licensure be sent directly to the Commission via mail or email. Attach an additional sheet if needed.

State	License Type	License No.	Expiration Date	Status

PERSONAL HISTORY INFORMATION

Please answer all the questions. For any "Yes" answers in the Personal History Information, a written explanation must be provided. For explanation of criminal history, completion and submission of the <u>Explanation Form</u> is required. Additional information may be requested by the Commission Office or an appearance before the Commission may be necessary.

- 1. Have you ever had an application for a license/certificate to practice a profession or occupation refused or denied by a licensing board, commission, or other entity?
- 2. Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against you by a professional licensing board or YES NO entity in any state?
- **3.** Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere for violation of any federal, state, or local law (you may exclude minor traffic violations, juvenile and/or expunged YES NO violations)?

ATTESTATION AND SIGNATURE

I certify that all statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I further understand that the information provided or in connection with this application may be investigated and verified, and false or incorrect information provided by me may result in the cancellation of any license issued pursuant to this application as well as the filing of appropriate civil and criminal proceedings.

I hereby represent and warrant to the Commission that I will, at all times, comply with the South Carolina Real Estate License Law and Regulations.

Applicant Signature

Date

PRIVACY DISCLOSURE

South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social security number for use in the establishment, enforcement and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law.

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY



Pursuant to Section 8-29-10, *et seq.* of the South Carolina Code of Laws (1976, as amended), the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation must verify that any person who applies for a South Carolina license is lawfully present in the United States. Complete and sign this affidavit of eligibility. The information provided is subject to verification.

Section A: LAWFUL PRESENCE in the United States.

The undersigned, (Print clearly First, Middle, and Last name)		_, of			
	(Print clearly First, Middle, and Last name)	(Home Address, City, State, and Zip Code)			
	first duly sworn deposes and states as follows:				
Check	ck only one box:				
1.	I am a United States citizen; or				
2.	I am a Legal Permanent Resident of the United States	eighteen years of age or older; or			
3.	I am a Qualified Alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act, Public Law 82-414, eighteen years of age or older, and lawfully present in the United States.				
4.	Other:Please submit any doo	cumentation that supports this status.			
Date of	of Birth:				
Alien Number:		lumber:			
	ou checked number 2, 3, or 4 you must attach a or ction sheet for a list of accepted immigration documents.)	copy of your immigration documents. See			

Section B: ATTESTATION.

I understand that in accordance with section 8-29-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, a person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall, in addition to other sanctions imposed by this State or the United States, be guilty of a felony, and upon conviction must be fined and/or imprisoned for not more than 5 years (or both).

I understand that the representations made in this Affidavit shall apply through any license(s) or renewals issued, and that I shall have an affirmative duty to immediately advise the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation of any change of my immigration or citizenship status.

I swear and attest the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand that under South Carolina law, providing false information is grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, certificate, registration or permit.

Signature of Affiant		
SWORN to before me this	day of	, 20
Notary Signature		
Print Name		
Notary Public for		
My Commission Expires:		
Rev: 02-02-2015		

INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR COMPLETING AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY

CHECK box 1:

If you are a United States Citizen by birth or naturalization

CHECK box 2:

If you are a Legal Permanent Resident and you are not a U.S. Citizen, but are residing in the U.S. under legally recognized and lawfully recorded permanent residence as an immigrant. **PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.**

CHECK box 3:

If you are a Qualified Alien. You are a Qualified Alien if you are:

An alien who is lawfully admitted for residence under the INA.

An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.

A refugee who is admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.

An alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) or whose removal has been withheld under Section 241(b)(3).

An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.

An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian Entrant as defined by Section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.

An alien who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, or whose child or parent has been battered or subject to extreme cruelty.

PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

ACCEPTED IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS:

Unexpired Reentry Permit (I-327)

Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card With Photograph (I-551)

Unexpired Refugee Travel Document (I-571)

Unexpired Employment Authorization Card Which Contains a Photograph (I-766)

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)

Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport or I-94)

I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport

I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant, F-1, Student Status)

DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor, J-1, Status)

OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS ONLY

CONSENT TO JURISDICTION AND SERVICE OF PROCESS

The undersigned applicant for South Carolina real estate licensure, being a non-resident of the State of South Carolina, does hereby irrevocably consent that if any action arises against the undersigned growing out of undersigned's acts or omissions as a real estate licensee within the State of South Carolina, suit may be commenced against said undersigned in the County of the State of South Carolina in which the said cause of action may arise, or in which plaintiff may reside, by the service of process upon the Administrator of the South Carolina Real Estate Commission, whom the undersigned hereby designates as agent for such service, and the undersigned further consents that such service shall be begun and held in all courts to be valid and binding as if due service had been legally made upon undersigned in the State of South Carolina.

Applicant Signature		
Sworn and Subscribed before me this	day of	, 20
Notary Signature		
Print Notary Name		
Notary Public or		
Commission Expiration Date		



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation **South Carolina Real Estate Commission** 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847 Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427 llr.sc.gov/re

SC REAL ESTATE COMMISSION CRIMINAL HISTORY EXPLANATION FORM

If you have been convicted, pled guilty, or pled no contest to a crime other than a minor traffic offense, you must complete this form and submit it with your application. <u>Failure to provide this information will result</u> in your application being incomplete and unable to be processed.

Fingerprint SLED and FBI criminal background checks will be required after the submission of your application to verify criminal history. Instructions for obtaining the fingerprint background checks will be sent after your application has been received. Failure to accurately disclose criminal history is potential grounds for denial of licensure or disciplinary action. Additional copies of this form may be submitted if needed to fully disclose.

Applicant Name (please print): ______

Offense(s): You must provide a detailed statement of the events surrounding the crime(s), including all pertinent information (such as charges, dates, locations, and sentences). Provide copies of any court documents or records showing the final disposition of these offenses. Attach additional pages or copies of this form if necessary.

Sentencing Completion Information: As provided below, indicate the resulting sentences or penalties from the above convictions and indicate whether have been completed or satisfied.

Attach copies of supporting documentation regarding completion of sentencing or probation, status of sentencing, or proof of payment/payment scheduling for any required restitution or fines.

Were you incarcerated?		□ Yes	\Box No If ye	s, indica	te the dates: _			
Were you put on probation?		□ Yes	□ No If ye	s, indica	te the dates: _			
Were you put on parole?		□ Yes	□ No If ye	s, indica	te the dates: _			
Fines	Amount:	Pa	id? 🗆 Yes	🗆 No	Date:	 Scheduled?	□ Yes	🗆 No
Restitution	Amount:	Pa	id? 🗆 Yes	🗆 No	Date:	 Scheduled?	□ Yes	□ No
Pardon	Pardon Date:							

REC Criminal History Explanation (8/2022)